Sonata No 5 "The Pied Piper"

By Larry Sitsky

Regular price $25.00 Sale

Solo flute.  Advanced grade.

Fifty years separates the composition of Larry Sitsky’s first Sonata for Solo Flute (1959) and The Pied Piper, Sonata No. 5 for Solo Flute which was composed in Canberra in April 2019. This work  alludes to the Medieval German legend of the Rat-Catcher of Hamelin, while his other four sonatas refer to an Oriental source. The Pied Piper contains internal sections labelled by the composer as A, B, C, and D, which each have their own individual character that is maintained throughout the composition. 

The premiere performance of The Pied Piper was given by Uliana Zhivitskaya on the 5th of December 2019 at the Moscow Conservatoire, Russia (see YouTube link below).

Composed 2019

    Download samples

    ISMN 9790720226552
    $20.00 for instant PDF download  Buy Now