Fever of the Sea - string orchestra

By Brennan Keats

Regular price $100.00 Sale

Concerto for violin, viola and string orchestra, c.9'40

This concerto uses extracts drawn from John Masefield’s (1878-1967) famous poem ‘Sea Fever’. No ship is ever still, be she made of wood or steel, restless water keeps up a never-ending impact on her hull. In the wooden hulls of the time of Masefield all vessels are forever groaning, creaking. cracking and working and so it is with the music to hand. There is a constant momentum in the Double Bass with support for the Cellos at times as Masefield’s ship is either alongside or riding the ocean. A restless poet and poem in every sense of the word accompanied by equally restless music written by one who loves and respects the sea.
Composed 2019

Download samples

ISMN 9790720226941

$80.00 for instant PDF download for conductor's score and parts Buy Now