New Composers 

Wirripang Pty Ltd is a classical fine music publisher with a focus on music composed by Australian Composers and written for concert or staged performance and educational/studio teaching. The Company accepts the submission of original works, on a twice-yearly basis. All submissions are peer-reviewed by panels of leading Australian composers, performers and industry experts.

In striving to contribute to the highest standards of international publication, Wirripang will only consider work that meets the following submission criteri:

1. Compositions will normally demonstrate:

  • an engaging use of musical materials;
  • technical skill in balancing instrumental and/or vocal sonorities;
  • innovative approaches to the use of colour, texture or word-setting;
  • evidence of careful structure and design;
  • professional quality computer notation and layout according to Wirripang guidelines on its website.
  • a body of work that demonstrates a quality standard of compositional material *.

2.  Supporting material should include and be attached to your email:

  • a 250-word CV indicating any previous publications, performances and recordings;
  • a 50-word statement of awareness about Wirripang’s current catalogue as shown on its website and how your submission might fit within it;
  • a quality current digital portrait photograph for promotional purposes.

3.  Composers submitting for the first time must submit three (3) works only for consideration. *These three works must each be complete and not part of a volume or be individual movements.  Works with lyrics or of a culturally sensitive nature, copyright in writing for their use must accompany these works. Note: Permission must be sought to use any part or whole of a copyrighted work.  If you are creating a new work with a snip/grab from another work, that must be authorised by the copyright owner.  This includes text, poems, arrangements etc.

Works will only be accepted from the music software of Sibelius, Finale or Dorico. No other music program will be accepted.

The composer will guarantee a minimum of five (5) works for publication during the first 12 months after acceptance.  Please include your email and postal address when submitting works.

4.  Under graduate and graduate students still completing course work will not be considered.

5.  Advise if a Representative or Associate Artist of Australian Music Centre.


  • All scores and supporting material to be submitted in PDF format. Any reference to the composer is to be removed from scores as these are submitted to the panel members anonymously. 
  • Please label each work for its instrumentation.
  • If works are set as movements or a cycle, please combine into one file. If a work is part of a collection, the complete set must be submitted. Scores are to be submitted one month prior to each meeting which occur June and December.  Please do not submit for review computer generated music scores, such as Sibelius or Finale.
  • Scores only (no parts) and all supporting material to be sent to Wirripang electronically at  Hard copies will note be accepted.
  • We strongly encourage composers to have all works performance tested and/or vetted by a performer before presentation before the panel.


    • Although a composer has been approved for publication, all future submissions will follow the above guidelines as outlined above.
    • All works approved from review rounds must be returned to Wirripang for publishing within three months from date of approval.

      Handwritten and graphic scores may be considered under exceptional circumstances

        Publishing Requirements:

        For detail information please download the Publishing Guidelines  

        The next assessment will be 14th December 2024. Works to be submitted for each round one month before.

        Artists' Advisory Panel Members:

        Professor Emeritus Michael Atherton AM, PhD, musician, composer, educator, and author.

        Dr Michael Dixon, DCA (UOW), MMus (Contemporary Musicology), MPhil (Composition), LRSM, FTCL, former Principal Horn Queensland Orchestra and guest Principal Horn AOBO.

        Dr Wendy Dixon Dip.Mus (Hons), Master of Music (Mus Ed), Guest Artist Soloist for Opera Australia, private studio and educational teacher of singing.

        David Miller AM, BA (Hons), Chair Ensemble Studies, Sydney Conservatorium of Music (Piano/Accompaniment)

        Assoc Professor Dr Jeanell Carrigan AM
        B.A.(Mus) with distinction (Qld Con), Künstlerische Straatsdiplom (Hochschule fuer Musik, Munich), M.Mus. (UQ) DCA (University of Wollongong). Collaborative Piano Unit, Sydney Conservatorium of Music, The University of Sydney.

        Dr John Peterson, BMus (Hons), MMus, PhD (Sydney), Composer, and retired Senior Lecturer in Composition at the School of the Arts and Media, University of New South Wales.

        Joanne Burrows, BA Grad.Dip.Teach.; A.T.C.L.; AMus.; L.T.CL. Cert.IV Assessment and Training; Master of Education and currently undertaking PhD studies. Head of Keyboard and Music Craft at Riverina Conservatorium of Music.

        Dr Brett McKern, PhD (Syd), DCA (W'gong), BMus, BEd (UNSW), BTh (SCD), FTCL, FGCM, FCompASMC, LMusA,ARCO, AMusA,  ACertCM, CertRS.     HonGCM. Composer, Organist, Conductor, Lecturer, Consultant in Music and Music Education. AMEB Federal Examiner, university lecturer.