String Quartet No. 1

By Justin Michael Mckay

Regular price $85.00 Sale

String Quartet No. 1 is a post-modern work in five movements, c.22'00

The opening movement is playful and dance-like, with some surprising harmonic shifts. The lyrical second movement, Coiffure, is the original version of what became Coiffure -Serenade for Chamber Orchestra in 2013.  The third movement, the emotional heart of the piece, is an hymn in the Phrygian mode, with overtones of minimalism.  The fourth movement, a quirky but elegant waltz, provides a lighthearted respite before the concluding movement, a prelude and fugue.  Overall, the work maintains a link to the German and Viennese chamber music tradition, with a modern twist.  Composed 2011 and 2013.

Download samples

ISMN 9790720171685 

$75.00 for instant PDF (95 pages) download score and parts  Buy Now