Ten Short Modal Pieces

By Michael Hannan

Regular price $15.00 Sale

For any solo instrument

These short melodic compositions explore the medieval concept of modes. All of the ten works use the traditional modes transposed to D as the modal centre. They are notated using key signatures rather than accidentals. The Phrygian mode transposed to D, for example, can be presented using a key signature of two flats.
The ten pieces respectively use the Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian, Dorian, Phrygian, Locrian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Dorian, and Aeolian modes. Only the Ionian mode, which is the same as the major scale, is omitted from the series.
The work is designed to introduce young musicians to the unique qualities of the interval structures of the different modes by basing all the pieces on the same note (D).
Transposition down an octave is suggested for instruments with lower ranges. The work is also suitable for singers.

Composed 1990

Download samples

ISMN 9790673142626
$10.00 for instant digital download Buy Now