Vartarun II

By Larry Sitsky

Regular price $20.00 Sale

Solo bass clarinet. Advanced/professional.

Vartarun is one of a series of works composed for solo winds in 1984 resulting from a study of Armenian folk and sacred music.
Vartarun, which means ‘ornate’ in Armenian, combines both the melodic qualities and asymmetrical rhythms typical of Armenian music.
Each movement examines various aspects of the clarinet. The first explores changes in the tonal spectrum of a note at different dynamic levels. The second movement exploits the expressive vocal capabilities of the instrument, and the third its virtuosity.
Composed 1984, arranged by Robert Scott 2014

    Download samples

    ISMN 9790720226606
    $15.00 for instant PDF download Buy Now