Four Quartal Studies

By Michael Hannan

Regular price $8.00 Sale

Solo piano

Four Quartal Studies explores the phenomenon of quartal harmony: that is, using chords that are based on stacks of fourths instead of stacks of thirds, as in traditional harmony. Quartal harmony is not a new idea, having been explored to various degrees by composers such as Schoenberg, Bartók and Hindemith, as well as in jazz by artists such as Miles Davis and Herbie Hancock.
Composed 1917

Download samples

ISMN 9790720214177

$5.00 for instant PDF download Buy Now