String Quartet

By Meta Overman

Regular price $100.00 Sale

String Quartet.

The quartet is in four movements using the traditional structure of fast, fast (scherzo), slow and fast. The opening movement is canonic and the writing simplistic but motivic, based on a rhythmical rather than a harmonic motive. The motives are established at the beginning of each movement and underpin the structure of the whole movement. The third movement melody is a tone row which appears firstly in violin 1 and then is adopted by all four instruments. The final movement is a fast dance.
  • Allegro moderato
  • Allegro scherzando
  • Adagio sostenuto
  • Allegro

Composed in 1939

Edited by Jeanell Carrigan.

Download samples


$80.00 for instant digital download score and parts  Buy Now